Who Are the Real Unicorns?

North Star
4 min readDec 4, 2022

Nominate them here…

While the term “unicorn” tends to mean a bisexual woman looking to form a triad with a heterosexual couple, I find the term to be useful for rare things in polyamory and dating. Let’s make a list together:

People who understand polyamory?

I got off of Bumble and OKCupid because I grew tired of explaining polyamory repeatedly to people who thought it was just acknowledged cheating, to people who said, “I don’t mind sharing you” to people who said, “okay but no feelings” or “you have to date both of us.” (Feeld is much better, but still has an occasional soulmate-seeker.)

I am no longer new, and I have wound my way through many situations by this time — it’s basically a turbo learning curve. I have my little checks and balances, mentioning my partners in messages and on the first date, clarifying my definition of ethical non-monogamy in my questionnaire, and asking people about their relationship style, any rules and what they are looking for. However, it is still challenging as the rest of the culture catches on and catches up to know where people truly are when you say “I’m polyamorous.”

And, there are lots of ways to do this but at minimum, I require

  • a person in a committed relationship that has a verbal or written agreement that…

--

--

North Star

Curiosity flows and I must write. Join me for adventures & insights about my kinky, polyamorous adventures. For more: Instagram.com/NorthStarMatches